Moving Forward in 2017

At our annual congregational meeting on Sunday, January 29, we elected our leaders, approved the 2017 budget and discussed important issues relating to our future at First. You will find the annual report that was presented, as well as recommendations and amendments that were approved at the links below:

Annual Report for 2016

Welcoming Statement Task Force Recommendations

Amendment to the Model Constitutions for Congregations as approved by the 2016 Churchwide Assembly

Worship, Learning and Serving Vision Team Reports

At the annual meeting, the following leaders were elected for the following roles, committees and leadership groups:

Congregational Council (elected to a 3-year term):
Mary Rogge
Barb Johnson-Frank
Jennifer Nelson
Brian Niebuhr
Barry Graham

Nominating Committee:
Jim Sandman
Molly Goninan
Mitch Snyder

Synod Assembly Delegates:
Don Westerhold
Elaine Kruse
Anna Marie King
Bev DeGeorge
Bill Hammelmann

Mission Cluster Representatives:
Clay Ehlers
Faye Doolittle

Endowment Board:
Peggy King

Church Council Members

Listed below are our current Church Council members who were elected by the membership of the congregation. Please refer to the Membership Directory or call the church office for contact information.

(Term expires 2017)
Steve Eicher
Wendy Hunt
Terry Kruse
Natalie Mares
Verdell Bohling

(Term expires 2018)
Kim Hall
Kim Harper
Matt Peters
Priscilla Hayden-Roy
Slate Mathes

(Term expires 2019)
Mary Rogge
Barb Johnson-Frank
Jennifer Nelson
Brian Niebuhr
Barry Graham

Executive Committee
President – Steve Eicher
Vice President – Wendy Hunt
Secretary – Priscialla Hayden-Roy
Treasurer – Matt Peters

Monthly Council Packets

Click on the links below to obtain the most recent reports and financial information. Council meetings are usually held on the second Tuesday of each month.

Church Council Standing Rules

Church Council Standing Rules 

First Lutheran Church’s Constitution

First Lutheran Church Constitution Amended 6_2_2017

Safe Sanctuary Policy

Throughout scripture God calls us to care for those who are vulnerable. The Safe Sanctuary Policy helps insure we are doing that at First Lutheran. The Executive Committee and Church Council have approved this policy for working with and protecting our children, youth and vulnerable adults. This policy includes requirements for supervision of children, not only by staff and volunteers, but also by families. All of these changes are for the safety and protection of our most vulnerable. To see the full policy, click the link below.

Safe Sanctuary Policy – Implemented 2012

Other Documents

Building Use Policy

Personnel Policy – Revised 2/2017

Mission Manual – Created February 2013

Bidding Process for Major Purchases – Dec 2012

Bidding Proonnel Policy – Updated 2/2017cess for Major Purchases – Revised Nov 2015


Saturday | 5:30pm
Sunday | 8:15am
Sunday | 10:45am
Sunday | 12:00pm

(Nuer Worship)

Office Hours

Monday-Friday | 8:30am – 4:30pm


1551 South 70th Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68506

(click the map for driving directions)